10
Apr

Scam Alert! Domain Registry Support

Archived in the category: Domain News
Posted by: Jamie Zoch -

I got a phone call today from a company so called Domain Registry Support. 1-800-224-8606 I could hardly understand the guy, but he was asking me about my domain AostaValley.com . Now this kind of threw me off, because I recently offered it for sale, but I am also in the process of transfering it. Plus I wasn’t really listening to the guy, because he seemed more like a telemarketer then anything.

He asked me a couple times for my Fax Number, which I told him I did not have one. I said, use the email address that you have from the whois, the same place you got my phone number. He said they are having problems with their email servers and can not email at the moment. Bull Shit!

So doing a quick search on Google. The fax that I would of got if I provided a number, would of been a "Final Notice Of Domain Extension" They would go on and tell me AostaValley.us has just become available and With phrases scattered throughout like: REGARDING: INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY NOTIFICATION PROCESS and IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNITED STATES LEGAL CODE and You are required to advice the notification processor of your intent to license this domain name… blah blah

After not really listening to the guy, he said he would update my contact information. Whatever that meant, who knows. Since he can’t get into my account to update whois on my domain I think he was just using that as a safe way out.

What they were trying to do, was get me to register my term in the .us extension and whatever else. This guy was creepy sounding and my constant questioning of ICANN was throwing him off, but he said they were ICANN Accredited and he wanted to verify my contact information and he needed a fax number to send the forms to verify and he just kept repeating himself. Well here is the full list of ICANN Accredited Registrars and I do not see them on there.

Nuestar is the Registry for .us domains, but he said they were ICANN Accredited. DAH! I am going to call Nuestar and report these Fraudsters! So if you get a Fax from Domain Registry Support www.DomainRegistrySupport.com just junk the faxes. If you get a phone call, tell them you heard of them already and you are reporting them to Nuestar.

Just Visting www.Nic.us they also have an advisory out. The message matches what this company is doing, but the name is different, Domain Notification Center, so it looks like they may have changed their business name, so keep an eye out for this one as well.

All the DomainRegistrySupport.com site sells, is a Site Builder and Web Hosting. They are NOT Accredited by NueStar either!

Jamie Zoch www.DotWeekly.com

3 comments for “Scam Alert! Domain Registry Support”

1

Your post is very interesting as I have gotten several calls of this nature from CRIMINALS which want to take away the domain name from “afraid” domain name owners - Just ignore this kind of LOSERS. Stand YOUR ground even if you stand alone because that is what makes you YOU as an individual unique (protect your Internet Real Estate because it is YOURS).

April 10th, 2008 at 10:57 pm
2

[…] would seem that my instincts were spot-on: Scam Alert! Domain Registry Support. Had I continued the call and divulged any information, I’d probably find myself saddled with […]

May 2nd, 2008 at 2:30 pm
3

Yup, scam. If you get a call from this number, just ignore it, or answer, give them a few seconds for the dialer to connect you with the human enacting the scam (he/she will not reply to your first “hello?”), then play loud music directly into the phone, talk about traffic, whatever seems appropriate at the time. I enjoy getting calls from these guys weekly.

June 11th, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply







GoDaddy.com WebSite Tonight 125x125

Add to Technorati Favorites



For Sale, MBE.org, EAMO.com, VAUE.com