14
Apr

Verify your Whois contact information

Archived in the category: Domain Help
Posted by: Jamie Zoch -

I hope everybody had a great weekend!

I have wrote about this in the past that it is very important to verify your whois information at your current registrars. I am writing it again, because it is important in more ways then one.

  • If your whois information is not correct, it is very likely you could miss a renewal notice.
  • You can also miss offers meant to be sent to you if your email address is incorrect.
  • Invalid whois information can lead to you losing your domain name.

Now I have noticed this issue mainly at Godaddy.com . I have been transferring in several domain names from Network Solutions, but also from MyDomain.com. On every single transfer, the whois email is wrong when I check it after the transfer. It will have an email address of NoMail@Godaddy.com or NoValidContact@SecureServer.net . Why this is happening, I am not sure, but the fact is, your whois contact info will be Incorrect and could lead to you losing your domain name.

I have also seen this when a domain name is "Pushed" into your account. So anytime you either purchase a domain via TDNAM, Transfer in a domain or get a domain via a push, verify your whois contact information for those specific domains For Sure! Do not limit this to just your Godaddy domains, but at all registrars for your own safety and so you do not miss out on any contacts that you would get threw whois.

2 comments for “Verify your Whois contact information”

1
Godolphin

Also, ensure that you are receiving email from your WHOIS privacy service. There have been issues with it sometimes. You will not know if someone has sent an offer or other communication.

April 14th, 2008 at 11:01 am
2
Andrew Reberry

Definitely check GoDaddy. Ironically I noticed the same thing LAST WEEK on some of our top domains. These domains I know were correct in whois a year or two ago at least. I wonder if GoDaddy did not have a glitch recently. It stinks the whois information was not right saying NoValidContact@SecureServer.net. Oddly too - this happened on the best domains, anything else was just fine. Even transfers.

April 14th, 2008 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

Name.com









Add to Technorati Favorites

DomainSalesMachine.com