I had run into a post on DnForum.com that was posted on 9-7-2008 that the domain name ESE.com was scammed out of the owners control. The Real Owner got the domain back, but this is a very tricky scam and I’m sure would be passed by most that have used Sedo.com before or was new to the process.

After you sell a domain on Sedo.com and the transaction is in progress, Sedo will send you an email stating they have received payment and provide "push" information for the domain.

This is when the scam is taking place. The scammer will send you a price that you would accept via sedo. Then shortly after, act like They are sedo and send you an email saying payment has been made and you can put the domain to X account etc.

The fact is, they never paid for the domain and are just trying to get you to push the domain to their account.

If you were to check in the headers (right click on the email title, then Properties) you will see in the headers where the email came from. This should "call out the scam" but you have to check the headers. I think Sedo.com probally uses a couple different mail servers, but one that I know they use is and will look like this: Received: from adsmtp.adlinkgroup.net (mail.adlinkgroup.net [85.236.53.135])

A second process should be followed after checking headers and Verify by logging into your sedo account (use direct navigation) and check what step Sedo is on. Payment Received etc. If things are not matching up, a bell should be going off.

A further step, would be to use a Different Email address that nobody knows, and have that set up as your Sedo contact email. That way, if you get an email that matches your Whois, you will know from the start it’s a fake!

Be sure to WATCH YOUR HEADERS in any email you get. Even Paypal payments! Scammers can fake an email to make it look like they paid and may never did. Again, login at Paypal and verify that payment is in your account.

Acro.net from DNF wrote about this as well on the 9th, but wanted to be sure you seen it! You can read more about it on DNF as well, but forget about the misleading title to the post. This was simply a scam and the OP was scammed into pushing the domain. It was never hacked.

You can never be to safe, so Please Verify, Call and ask questions etc. If something seems fishy, it probally is.