These scum bags haunt on newly hand registered domain names. Once they get a daily this, the scrap the whois system to obtain email addresses and sent out emails in an attempt to act as they have interest in purchasing your domain name. They really only have interest in trying to get you to order a domain name appraisal for $60!

Never pay for a domain name appraisal. Never!

Here is the latest domain name appraisal scam email floating around:

Hello,

We saw this domain name listed for sale on the web.

Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.

If you have other names for sale please email us yiur full list with prices for consideration.

Looking forward to doing business with you.

Regards,

George Petersen

President

Domain Names & Web Hosting Clue LLC

========================================================
NOTICE – This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.
========================================================

Simply delete the email and do not replay, as they will reply with some BS like this:

I’m thinking about 60,000 – 80,000 USD for your domain. What do you think
about this price range?

Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain
appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It’s very
important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation
company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from
independent sources I and my partners trust.

To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal
companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and
buyers:

http://www.thenamepros.com/Archive/62931485.htm

Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?

Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price
accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% – 15%
discount.

After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to
obtain it) we’ll continue our negotiations.

What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire
transfer, PayPal.com or something else?

Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

This isn’t the first of these type of domain name appraisal scams to go around, so use caution. I have wrote about them many of times and so have many others. They change domain names from time to time, personal names etc. but continue with the appraisal scam.

Never pay for a domain name appraisal!

12 Responses to Another Appraisal Scam: Domain Names & Web Hosting Clue LLC


  1. tammy
    Jul 31, 2011

    Got that exact same message this morning.


  2. Kirkpad
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jamie, I’m not sure why I follow this site, but it intrigues me. I am not “in-the-know” about domain selling etc. However, as a long time internet user I could see how this could be something I can get into. Maybe in a few years.

    Another interesting post, as well.


  3. Aaron
    Jul 31, 2011

    I got this a few weeks back. I googled the email and come across some forums saying it was a scam. I emailed him back telling him to stick it.


  4. Secret Steve
    Aug 01, 2011

    I got one of these a few months back, making me think I made my first big sale. When I realised, I posted back a vicious trojan ( changed the name to Official_appraisal or something). It obviously had the intended effect as I had alot of hate mail and scam/spams fillinf my inbox in return, but hey it was well worth it:) If these people spent half as much time and energy on a legit business they’d probably be ten times richer.


  5. Jim
    Aug 03, 2011

    Dangit. I just got this email. Thanks for the information so I didn’t do anything stupid!!


  6. Will
    Aug 03, 2011

    Thank you Jamie,
    Reading this just saved me 60.00 I appreciate info like this considering im brand new to selling domains.

    Thank you again,
    Will


  7. Andrew
    Aug 03, 2011

    Just had this happen to me today, and found this site because of it. Thanks for the warning!


  8. Tameko Miller
    Aug 04, 2011

    That is a TRIP!!!

    I am trying to sell a domain name / social networking package, Freakybehavior.com, and got an initial email EXACTLY like that which was described in this article. And the follow-ups sounded just like the other one in the article with “Bob” wanting me to get an appraisal.

    WOW, that sure is a trip!!!


  9. Christaylor
    Aug 23, 2011

    Thanks a lot for this post I’ve got the same message this morning for my domain jeuxmonopoly.com. The only change was the president’s name Mike Pullman At first sight, I thought a was a good deal but what really intrigued me is that my domain was listed for a fixed price and they told me it was listed in auction. My question is, how they got my email?


  10. VK
    Sep 05, 2011

    I got the same message so here is my reply:

    Hello.

    As you are aware there is a common scam involving false offers to buy
    domains where the ‘buyer’ insists on an independant evaluation but the
    ‘buyer’ gets the fee or commision from this valuation and does not buy
    the domain.

    If you are interested in buying this domain then you get the
    independant valuation at your cost then make your offer through
    sedo.com based on that valuation.

    The url to make the offer is here:

    [I put the link to the sedo offer page for the domain here]

    Thankyou.


  11. Tina
    Oct 04, 2011

    Got the same styled message! What a scam! It is like asking Sears to give you an appraisal on a washer and dryer from a third party before you are ready to buy it. Free market economy baby! If you want it, and you agree to a price – then that’s all she wrote!


  12. Ray
    Jan 20, 2012

    I am the owner of webhostingclue.com, we don’t have so called “George Petersen” in company, this guy is spamming. Any acquisition email sent on behalf of webhostingclue.com should be from official mailbox like ‘abc@webhostingclue.com’, etc.

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.