Another new appraisal scam email is going around as of Yesterday 1-8-2009. This time the email is starting off pretty odd and is the following:

"Hello,

My name is Tom Myers and I’m interested in the domain mentioned in the
subject line. I’m a cybersquatter but never use domains in bad faith etc.
Working according the law is my policy.

Some of my clients are interested in your domain. Please let me know your
price. If you have other good names just send me the list with prices.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Tom Myers
Independent Cybersquatter”

If you happen to reply, it will lead to them asking if you have ever had your domain name "Evaluated" before.

This is a SCAM. They are NOT interested in your domain name. They simply want you to pay for a domain name appraisal and will Never Purchase Your Domain Name. You can read more here that I wrote about several other ways they go about this scam. Do Not Pay for a domain name appraisal.

Some known domain names they have used for emails in contacting people in the past are the following: TheOnlineBrokerage.com EasyNameSale.com, EliteInvestment.net , ToughGuy.net , phreaker.net, DomainExplorer.org.

Some of the email address used during this scam were:

carter@eliteinvestment.net ~ president@eliteinvestment.net ~ ceo@eliteinvestment.net ~ prsllc@phreaker.net ~ jorgensen@eliteinvestment.net ~ jmarshall@toughguy.net ~

9 Responses to Another new appraisal scam email going around


  1. RegFeeNames.com
    Jan 09, 2009

    ToughGuy.net was the domain they sent an email to me with but that was some time ago!

    Well done Jamie letting people know – Did you post this info on the Forums also!

    I think others that dont read your blog should be made of aware of this piece of SCUM!

    Regards,

    Robbie


  2. JSS
    Jan 13, 2009

    Yes,

    I received the same email today and i was pretty close to do it… But, i prefer to do research before. However, this what they sent me :
    ” Thank you for the fast response. Can you accept 12,000 USD? Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name? Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
    Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It’s very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust.
    To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers: http://domainblog.007sites.com/486935.htm
    If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% – 15% discount.
    After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we’ll continue our negotiations. What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
    Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

    However, thank’s a lot… I was pretty close to spend 60euro in this shit…


  3. rob
    Jan 23, 2009

    Fucker got me twice in a row before I got the message

    “No deal without appraisal from a trusted source. This simple rule has saved
    me a lot of money and time. Feel free to contact me when you change your
    position and let’s do business the right way.”

    The piece of shit kept raising the “bidding” price until I appraised both URLs.

    I’ve already notified my VISA. They’re good with that stuff.


  4. jo
    Mar 04, 2009

    I got this SCAM as well when trying to sell the domain name egyptianpearl.com through Sedo. I got contacted from murphy@eliteinvestment.net 2 days after i posted it – when i first went to the site he recomended http://www.DomainExplorer.org/ for appraisal – the look of the site made me think it was a scam after a few emails with him and researching about reliable appraisal companies. I decided to search for DomainExplorer.org Scam and found this post – so my assumptions where right. Obviously im a bit pissed of for the time he made waste, but i think i have learned a lot about selling premium domians. So make sure if you appraise a domain it is you that decides which appraisal company to go for.


  5. Mac
    Apr 03, 2009

    Found you doing due diligence before responding to solicitation of pricing from XXX@eliteinvestment.net

    I think there is no doubt. Thanks for the “heads-up”.


  6. MATT
    May 05, 2009

    This email is still going around, always after you just join up and post a new domain in SEDO, i had an email from him in the last few days, BE AWARE!!!


  7. Timothy
    Jul 17, 2009

    Got the same email just today.


  8. leanback
    Oct 18, 2009

    Jo, Thanks for your post, I went through the exact same bs. and dumm me actually paid for an
    85.00 appraisal through Plimus referred by
    domainexplorer.
    Shoot this onlinebrokerage dude, made me offer of 15,000 pending appraisal.. Of course my appraisal came back as 38,000.

    Plus my additional stupidity, I have been in real estate 20yrs. real estate broker 15+-

    A wake up, and a lesson learned….
    When looking back viewing the onlinebrokers
    website, gave me a red flag.

    Me yep too nice, thought dude maybe just starting out, maybe does have a few investors
    for certain domains.????? duhhhhh and I must add a durrrrrrrrr .

    Thanks all.
    Respectfully,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Domain Appraisal Scam ~ Kevin Hill : DotWeekly.com Domain Name Blog

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.