I was thinking the other day that Apple® should own AppleTablet.com with all the "Apple Tablet" rumors floating around before launching tomorrow but no they do not. Some squatter owns it.
According to whois records:

The same owners of AppleTablet.com happen to own the domain name AppleIncorporated.com to boot!
Now just owning a generic term like Apple doesn’t always mean you are infringing on a registered trademark but profiting from ads related to a registered trademark while using a registered trademark in your domain name does! Coming across by displaying a picture of an iPhone® a product Apple happens to make! From the AppleTablet.com site and clear other Apple related products. AppleTablet.com (which is basically a clone of AppleIncorporated.com) is pictured below.

Plus in the Amazon widget, you can clearly see a Mac computer and other Apple related products. The site tries to display some text at the bottom of the page that it is "not affiliated with the computer maker Apple" but in the same screen you can see ads for iPhone Accessories. Again, confusing! Clearly AppleIncoroporated.com is Very Confusing and one may think Apple Computers may own it… because they are Apple Inc. and Apple products are being displayed on the site.

This in my book is a clear case of domain name cybersquatting and is a crystal clear example of what NOT to do. Not only with AppleTablet.com but with AppleIncorporated.com. These people own at least two domain names with a registered trademark in it and are profiting from ads based on products the registered trademark holder owns. To add insult to injury and further ad legal backing trying to profit.. AppleTablet.com and AppleIncorporated.com domain names are both listed For Sale at Sedo.com.


The REAL Apple is located at Apple.com and we will find out tomorrow what the real name for the Tablet will be!
Advice
It is not worth purchasing or using a domain name that contains a registered trademark, certainly not in the same industry or field. If you have questions about a trademark, you should consult a lawyer.


dcmike77
$2,500 sounds like a good deal
John Bomhardt
lol, looking at the whois, I grew up in that neighborhood! He lives near my grandmother which I’ll be visiting shortly (my grandmother lol).
Go to his spiro.tv and click on his linkedin tab at the bottom. Interesting…