I am all ears when it comes to unique idea’s to getting somebody to buy a domain name but that ALL stops when you are trying to SELL a domain name you do not own!
I have got many emails in the past that state "I noitced you own ExampleDomain.org and we are offering the preferred DotCom version for sale and since you own ExampleDomain.org we thought you may be interested"
Well, most of the time when you get an email like this, the ".com" is actually Available to hand register and the person sending the email is trying to make a quick buck off you.
This morning I got a very similar email like stated above but with a bit different approach. This time I was surprised to see who this email came from!
LeaderByChoice Inc AKA DomainersEdge.com AKA iTime Marketing
The following is the email:
Pending sale notification:
In a few days we plan to offer the domain name ExampleDomain.COM for sale.
Because you own the similar domain name ExampleDomain.org, we thought you my be interested in acquiring the preferred DotCom version of this domain.
We plan to offer this domain for sale in three days and believe there is likely to be strong interest in this domain name by multiple parties, but since you own a similar version of the domain we wanted to give you the first right of refusal.
If You`re interested in this domain:
Go to the domain reservation page, here, and indicate your interest in this domain by completing the contact form. When the domain is available for sale, you`ll be the first to hear about it.
Again, if you have interest in this domain, you need to RSVP right away at the reservation page located here: http://almightyideas.com/buy.php?preorder=1&qefid=2993625&domain=ExampleDomain.org
If you have NO interest:
In acquiring the preferred DotCom version of this domain, simply click the "Cancel Notification" link below and we won`t contact you again.Cancel Notifications: http://almightyideas.com/mailer/rem.php?email=Removed Email Address
Very best regards,
Pat Kenedy
pat@almightyideas.com
tel: 303.997.1703LeaderByChoice, INc
600 17th Street, Ste 2800 South
Denver, CO 80202-5428
In the email headers the email address is itimecustomerservice.com. If you were to visit Almightyideas.com it forwards to CrucialDomains.net and offers some random domain for sale. Visiting whois of CrucialDomains.net will show Whois Privacy but the website title is LeadersByChoice. When I went to the site, the domain shown (muhasebeegitimi.com) was for sale for $444. According to whois, LeadersByChoice doesn’t own that domain name either?
So I looked into the domain name they contacted me about that I own the .org of and it happens to be Pending Delete! Since they state "In a few days we plan to offer the domain name ExampleDomain.COM for sale" that comes across to me as if THEY own the domain name already IMO!
So if I use (clicked) the link to reserve the domain name, they would simply Drop Catch the domain and try to sell it to me for who knows how much.
This is DIRTY if you ask me! Tricky or whatever word you want to use.

RegFeeNames.com
Yeah a real dirty trick Jamie but they have been doing it for a while!
I got an email from them some time ago maybe even in 2007 trying to sell me a domain they dont own!
Really annoys me! Avoid all contact with them everyone!
Regards,
Robbie
JL Hill
Being the owner of several domain names, I appreciated this post. I have yet to receive any e-mails offering to sell me a domain, but at least now I know if I do, the red flags will fly. Thanks!
Tony
They’re not all bad. I own personallaw.org and they emailed me about personallaw.com. I found it was about to expire and reserved it on Pool.com. Long story short – I own both now. Thanks, Shady Tactics!
**Jamie Says**
.
Good point Tony. The one thing for those who read this, that are not educated enough in the domain industry will learn to check whois if they would be interested in the domain mentioned in the shady email
Patrick McDermott
Jamie,
I think they are actually doing me a favor when I receive their emails.
They are also Tasters and will contact you if you own one of the other extensions.
If you don’t respond they usually drop the domain.
Then you have a chance to grab it.