I just used direct navigation and logged into my Twitter.com account. Once in my account, I clicked on my Direct Message link in the right side task bar. Once I clicked the Direct Message text, the page changed and brought me directly to this:

TwitterPeek.com

TwitterPeek.com!

I felt a bit tricked really and wasn’t sure what was up. I am not even sure if Twitter owns TwitterPeek or not, but according to whois records, TwitterPeek.com is owned by Amol Sarva of Long Island, New York. Twitter.com is owned by Twitter Inc. of San Francisco, CA.

This tells me that either Twitter Peek is advertising on Twitter or that Twitter was hacked. If they are advertising, one would think it would be a banner ad or something like that and not a hidden link when your clicking your Direct Message text link.

I’m not a 100% what’s up, but this is what happened to me and I have never once visited TwitterPeek.com before being redirect nor did I click anything other than the Direct Message text link directly on Twitter.com in my account.

4 Responses to Does Twitter.com Have It’s First Advertiser? TwitterPeek.com


  1. Shaun
    Nov 12, 2009

    You probably didn’t click on your DM link, but on the space below where it lists your followers and who you’re following. In that space, there are text links to Twitter apps and related sites. Sometimes, there’s an ad for Twitter Peek. This isn’t a new feature (its been around for months). For example, the ad for twitterpeek looks as such:

    Twit·ter·Peek
    n. a device to access Twitter on-the-go.


  2. Ross
    Nov 12, 2009

    Think you got hacked IMO. A redirect is what it sounds like.


  3. Jamie Zoch
    Nov 12, 2009

    I am not exactly sure what happened but, I am 99.9% sure I clicked the Direct Messages text link. The “followers” section and suggested sites are on the top right and about 3 links above where I clicked the DM.


  4. Ross
    Nov 12, 2009

    I regularly visit certain sites everyday. Every once in a while it just redirects me to a random site, sometimes without even clicking on anything. Not sure how this happens but it prolly has something to do with an injection/hack of the website.

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.