Getting an email with "interest" in your domain name is nothing new, but I have seen this style of mass email appraisal scam many times that talks about a domain appraisal in the contact email.

If you reply with your offering price, they simply reply back trying to get you to pay for an appraisal from a site They Own and never truly held any intention to purchase your domain name in the first place.

This "new" email uses the name Kevin Hill in it, with the email address being 2kevinhill@gmail.com . UPDATE: Just got another similar email and now this time a different name and email address was used. Steven Harris with the email address sharrisgo@gmail.com .

The subject of the email will be: Offer for DOMAINNAMEHERE.com

The email that I got is the following:

We are interested to buy your domain name DOMAINHERE.COM and offer to buy it from you for 80% of the appraised market value.

As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

- fleos.com
- sedo.com

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Yours truly,

Kevin Hill

They stick in their own appraisal service Fleos.com (avoid) along with Sedo.com who is a Real company. Fleos.com was just created this month (7-4-2009) and holds a location of Malaysia. The best thing to do is simply delete the email or any similar email in the future! It’s a BS contact and considered a domain appraisal scam!

You can read more about past similar appraisal scam emails to help prevent you from becoming a victim and losing out on some cash. Here as well and here.