Domainers are some of the best investigators there are. They can get info for just about anybody and contacting a domainer with a "Tricky" practice is the wrong thing to do. There is no reason to be tricky with anybody as simply asking many of the times works!
For an example, I got an email from what appears to me as a "domainer" but I would consider him a Cybersquatter who uses Shady practices really. The emails states:
We received your request for information from the Daily Domains
group. Before we begin sending you great deals on domain names, we want to be certain we have your permission.
That could be true, but NO… I didn’t request anything. By looking at the 100% domains for sale style blog, I confirm that I would never have visited TweetDailyDomains.com site, his twitter site etc!
Why try to trick me? or give me a line of bs that I requested blah balh? If your going to send me an email, Just ask me if I want to get your newsletter!!!
The owner states they have the domain name "GamblingFortuneOnline.net" for sale for $199 with a claim that the .com sold for $1.1 Million…

Checking whois.sc will show never registered before!

Was it a typo? I’m sure it was, as the news story talked about Gambling Forum Online but the email wasn’t cool, so I thought I would point this out as well. By the looks of it, selling domain names you do not own is not cool. (he does own gamblingforumonline.net) btw.
I hate practices like this email! No need to try and "trick" people when you can simply ASK to be included in a newletter. Now keep in mind, this is the very same "person" that owns Learjet.org, GoogleMap.net, DietMountainDew.com and whatever other TM term domain names giving good domainers a blackeye. Come on Richard!



Had something like this recently happen as well, deleted the email so not sure if it was from the same person. But the person was asking me to purchase gironaspain.com for 199 dollars since I own gironaspain.net . Just for grins a day or so later I did a whois on the domain and lo and behold gironaspain.com was available. Purchased it at regfee.
I hope people realize these people are scammers and do not ever fall for it.
December 1st, 2008