vlad74 from NamePros.com (post # 546) had his account hacked into and the scammer was trying to transfer several of his domains out, changed email address, PIN number on account etc.

The scam started with a FAKE email that looked like the ones Godaddy is currently sending out for it’s ICANN verification process on registrant info that it does annually.

How to prevent this scam from happening to you?

1.) I never click links in emails like this. Just copy the "key code" and go directly to Godaddy.com via direct navigation. Scroll to the bottom of the home page and under Resources, the second link down (ICANN Confirmation) is what you need for the page to enter the code.

2.) There is no reason to Login to see and verify the information. So do not login.

3.) Look at and Verify the Headers in the email. You can also track the IP address that the email came from (location). I use www.ip2location.com to do this.

If you think or did click one of these links via email, to be on the safe side, login in and change your password ASAP at Godaddy. It’s always better to be safe then sorry.

vlad74 also stated that Godaddy did help out and changed the changed info back on the account that was hacked.

The hacker used information like the following: Adam Zicher. Used Melbourne IT for the domain registered, but then later the domain was deleted. (godaddywh0is.com) was the domain used (with a Zero). The email on that was godaddydns@yahoo.com .

6 Responses to Scam Alert: Godaddy’s ICANN confirmation emails


  1. Wendy Putnam
    Sep 29, 2008

    Thanks for the insight. I received my godaddy.com icann update email yesterday. Thankfully I have a knee-jerk habit of never opening this kind of information via email. I type the domain directly always. I did, however have to login and change my address on some of my domains and for a second when I read this article I worried I may have clicked on the email. Just as a precaution I am changing my pw, so thanks. I have piece of mind again…and now as an after thought. Has anyone heard directly whether godaddy.com transferred the casino domains to Kentucky. I read somewhere where they said they didn’t do it, but other articles state they did transfer them without a fight. I would love to know so I can decide if I should move my domains to a more secure registrar. I only have generics but at this stage of the game they are also at risk!
    Thanks again.
    Wendy

    **Jamie Says**
    It never hurts to change your pw, so that was a wise move Wendy. Michael over at TheDomains.com posted this http://www.thedomains.com/2008/09/24/godaddy-caves-into-kentucky/ which stated Godaddy Did allow the domain(s) out.


  2. Shuwix
    Sep 29, 2008

    If webmaster, domain trader or whoever anyway tight with IT would click on links in e-mails should leave this his business and starts to be lumberjack instead.


  3. Damir
    Sep 29, 2008

    Thanks Jamie for the info, I did get several emails of that kind and I have known that they where fake.


  4. Trig
    Sep 30, 2008

    thanks jamie.
    i also got some of those emails. are any of them real? do we have to do anything for icann regularly with our names, or are they all fake?

    **Jamie Says**
    Hello Trig! Yes, most of the emails are real. The bad thing about not putting in the “keys” is Godaddy will just keep sending the emails out.


  5. Bart
    Sep 30, 2008

    Woow, thank you for this valuable info!! I got a few Godaddy (I hope) mails too. But I don’t remember if I clicked on the link or typed in the URL. I better verify this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scammers Faking Godaddy’s ICANN Confirmation Mails | Domain Name News | Domain News | Expired Domains

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.