Another round of emails are going out to domain name owners that appear to hold interest in buying your domain name but want you to order a domain appraisal. This is a scam.

The email came from Sale Domain LTD, and includes the domain name Max-Apprais.com as one of the companies they accept an appraisal from. This is a scam! The email address it came from was info@hotsaledomain.com .

The email looks like this:

"Dear sir,

we have an interest to buy the domain name  DomainHere.COM and offer between 50% and 65% of a valuation.
We accept appraisals from companies such as

http://www.sedo.com/

http://max-apprais.com/

Should you already have a valuation please send it to us.

Please contact us if you are interested. After reviewing your valuation and in case of an agreement we will send payments via PayPal or Escrow.com, as well as further information on how to complete the transfer of the domain.

Best regards,
Sale Domain LTD"

Do not order an appraisal and simply Delete The Email from them! They never hold any intention to buy your domain name and simply profit from the scam when people order a domain appraisal from Max-Apprais.com! They never truly hold any interest in buying your domain name.

You can see more emails, company names and domain names they have used in this scam that I wrote about several times here.

6 Responses to Scam Alert: Sale Domain LTD / Max-Apprais.com


  1. Bob
    Oct 26, 2009

    After getting the exact same email for one of my domains, the first thing I did was google “sale domain ltd” and saw this page. Needless to say, the email itself is suspicious given the total lack of company info (not even a website? c’mon). Thanks for the blog post. I’m going to ignore that email.


  2. Jamie Zoch
    Oct 26, 2009

    @Bob,
    Glad I did my job right and you were able to find me in the search engines when you had questions. I look forward to having you become a daily reader of DotWeekly as many SE searchers do. Welcome aboard.


  3. JZ
    Oct 26, 2009

    I got the same email. I did a whois serach for HotSaleDomain.com, the domain was just registered about a week ago. It is a scam.


  4. slittle1959
    Oct 26, 2009

    Thanks for the help. Got one of these today.


  5. jero
    Nov 30, 2009

    Got the same email today for the above domain which expired already 4 months ago !

    pure scam !


  6. 78
    Dec 14, 2009

    I’v just received the same email. I got luck that found this news.

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.