I know English is not everbody’s first language and grammar is for sure not one of my strongest, but with that said, BS is the same no matter where you are from!

CWI.com is listed on Sedo right now. The domain is owned by somebody in Israel, so I can understand the English part of the listing. Now that doesn’t take away the funny part of it, as I would bet 95% of the people who read the listing do not know he is from Isreal and hope they can smell the BS as I do.

In the sellers Sedo Description he starts out with: Wonderful LLL.com, Online since 1989, One of the most oldest domains ever ! 1989 is pretty old but not the "Most Oldest Ever". The FACT is, the domain really dropped so it’s one of the NEWEST LLL.com’s EVER with a creation date of 04/17/2008 but does have history back to 1989. Most people list a date because of the creation date and that it HELD the age. Not in this case.
 

The seller then provides a link and says Appraised by Afternic for 140,000$

You may visit this link: http://www.afternic.com/appraisa l.php?id=90796 Well if you visit the link, it brings you to a generic Make an Offer page! My guess, another line of BS since it didn’t bring me to any appraisal page. Let alone, we all know what domain name appraisals are worth….

The ad goes on and talks about acronyms.. Then:  Overture > 2050 Frequency> 3000,000 Traffic> 3000 visitors per month We also know that Overture is Outdated data but current worktracker results are 54 per day, which turns out to be 1,620 per month, so again BS. Frequency… well that must be a new number and secondly Frequency for What? Google, Yahoo? Traffic, who knows..

The ad continues on with: This domain is composed of best english letters, full potential , similar LLL.com sold for even higher price..

For one, I wouldn’t say they are the "best English letters", Full Potential for what? Then saying "similar LLL.com’s sold for even HIGHER PRICES"? Higher Prices then what? The $140K appraisal?

Then to finish and the best line yet IMO… After this week announcement of 15 LLL.com sale for 40,000$ each , you will never dream to find LLL.com cheaper than 20,000$ . Cheap LLL.com is something from history now ! Not sure the sellers definition of "cheap", but it’s part of history now according to him! Oh man, that line was funny as hell!

Side Notes: Back in 2003 CWI.com was reported a Stolen Domain. I do not know if it was ever returned to it’s owner. http://www.dnforum.com/f77/stolen-domains-cwi-com-7y-net-vya-net-thread-38761.html

cwi.com did sell on Pool.com via a Pending Delete auction they cought, that ended on 4-20-2008 for $15,000 USD. I do find it odd that the current seller listed it on Sedo for No Reserve. I had seen the domain listing after 7 bids were placed already and the bid was only $3,100 USD.

9 Responses to Some domain listings just crack me up!


  1. C
    Jun 09, 2008

    Sorry, can’t help myself:

    I know English is not everbod-Y’-s first language and gramm-A-r is for sure not one of my strongest [noun? Grammar isn't your strongest what?], but with that said, BS is the same no matter where you are from!

    CWI.com is listed on Sedo right now. The domain is owned by somebody in Isr-AE-l….
    **Jamie Says**
    Thank you C. I fixed most of it ;)


  2. Ted Olson
    Jun 11, 2008

    New reader – enjoying your work. Thanks


  3. DODO
    Jun 16, 2008

    Hi
    Firs here is the link for the afternic appraisal

    https://www.afternic.com/appraisal.php?id=90796

    I pushed space botton mistakely when i paste it in the info , that’s why it showed Make an Offer page !
    Secondly , i didn’t know that the domain business is exclusive for native english speakers !!

    Being from israel have a problem in your opinion ?

    And yes this domain online since 1989 according to alexa , and i catch it from legal auction at Pool.com .

    The traffic is real .

    As an admin , you should be more objective !

    Thanks for promoting my domain !


  4. DODO
    Jun 16, 2008

    And yah , i forgot something , the deal was with sedo to feature this auction without reserve , for guarantee to be sell , and for maximum exposure !

    And that report you mentioned , dosn’t mean any thing because this domain was captured 100% legally .
    You are the Master of BS , i don’t belive that you are 3 years in this business .
    Even you got no ethics .

    **Jamie Says**
    The domain was reported Stolen in 2003 and I was not able to find another posting saying it was ever returned to it’s owner. So the person who stole it back in 2003 very well could of been the one to let it expire. I never stated you stole the domain. I said Pool captured the domain on an expired drop.

    The reason behind my posting, is because your facts didn’t add up. CWI.com is not “one of the most oldest domains ever”. Maybe in your opinion! The fact is, it doesn’t even rank in the top 100 since those date back to 85-87 and all of those still hold their age, unlike CWI.

    The appraisal link didn’t work when I checked it. Nothing I can do that you posted a bad link. Overture is outdated data. More Facts!

    Then your best line “you will never dream to find LLL.com cheaper than 20,000$”. You can eat those words, because it sold for $15,500! So another fact out the window as I expected. You paid $15K for it about 2 months ago and after you pay Sedo’s Commission of 10%, you are getting $13,950, which is a lose of $1,050.

    So yes, I have been domaining for 3 years and I posted Facts.


  5. DODO
    Jun 16, 2008

    “The domain was reported Stolen in 2003 and I was not able to find another posting saying it was ever returned to it’s owner. ”
    When you read that thread which posted by a japanese guy talking about his friend that supposed to be domainer , who let his domain go away , and you read the comment of the previous registrar that ensure to you that the transfer was done according to preocedures !
    Nothing really approved , and the domain wasn’t even blacklisted ,plus the previous owner supposed to be american company .
    “you will never dream to find LLL.com cheaper than 20,000$”
    It is just a promotion sentence , what bad in that ?
    And who said i paid $15K ?!

    The guy who won the auction at pool.com didn’t pay them , and since i was the second high bidder , and the fact that he just inflated the price which was at $9.5K , they offered me the domain week later for $9.5K !
    Would you reject that ?
    So after i pay Sedo’s Commission of 10%, i’m getting $13,950, which is almost $4450$ return in one month !
    And this is lowest benfit i earn from LLL.com .
    I am one year in the business , and i proved my self .

    **Jamie Says**
    “”you will never dream to find LLL.com cheaper than 20,000$”
    It is just a promotion sentence , what bad in that ?”
    What’s bad about it, is it’s not the truth. Promotions are done with Truthful facts.
    “And who said i paid $15K ?!”
    I was in the auction at Pool.com and the auction ended at $15K. The auction never reran to my knowledge and the bidding history shows “obadeshka 15000 USD 2008-04-19 22:29:19″. but does show ” Latincorp 15000 USD 2008-04-19 17:49:45 ” ahead of your bid. The price shows on Pool that it sold for $15,000. “cwi.com 2008-04-20 16:17:00 15000 USD 2008-04-19 22:29:19″ That’s why I reported it like that. If Latincorp didn’t pay, then the last bid besides yours and latincorp was by somebody else “mastex 9400 USD 2008-04-19 14:40:19″ then your bid of ” obadeshka 10000 USD 2008-04-19 16:29:05 ” was the next highest, so it would make sense that you got it at 9500 but would be pretty suprising that Pool wouldn’t rerun the auction and not just give it to the next highest bidder. Congrats on the sale and profit. ;)


  6. fornetti
    Aug 31, 2008

    I do not believe this

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some domain listings just crack me up!
  2. Some domain listings just crack me up! | Domain News
  3. After 7 » Blog Archive » Some domain listings just crack me up!

Leave a Reply




Notify me of comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.