TheMagicBulletSystem.com video was brought to my attention from another domainer at Fusible.com . I didn’t mind giving up an email address to watch the video that shows proof that they are taking in over $14K a day using affiliate marketing.
In the video, they show several affiliate accounts and even the sites they USE for the programs they are making the money with. The sites are often what people will NOT show you, because they do not want to compete against you if you decide to copy what they are doing. Another thing that should be clear and is pointed out in the video, but not a Main Focus, The Profit.
Yes, they put A LOT of focus on the $14K per day or the $5.2 Million for the year, but that number is also part of there $800+ budget per adsense campaigns as well. From what they showed, they were hitting a profit of about $2K or $80K a year. That is a nice profit but clearly shadows the big $5.2 Million dollar number.
Another point that I wanted to point out. During the video, the author is clear to point out several times that they are doing every thing Legally! Are they?
Well, they may think that, but in the video when they start showing the landing pages of the sites they use to promote the affiliate programs, they are NOT doing all things "Legally" from what I can tell.
Example: They promote a MSN® messenger download which they get paid $3.50 per download. What domain do they use for this site? Download-MSNmessenger.com .
They are hitting up important keywords in the domain used, but they are also trademark infringing by including MSN in there domain name. Microsoft owns the MSN trademark and including Messenger along with it, makes the TM infringement all that much stronger.
Is that legal? No, unless they have Microsoft’s permission which is not likely. Secondly, most affiliate networks do not allow you to use infringing domains to promote the items they offer.
Site number two that they showed in the video was for a Skype® smiley download. Skype is also a registered trademark. Domain name they used? InstallSkype.com
Not Legal!
Domain number 3… another messenger type domain but this time they bring in the trademarked term Yahoo® and there messenger! Domain name they used? Download-YahooMessenger.com
Not Legal!
All 3 campaigns are marking a profit using trademarked terms in the domain names. This is no different then if they were to "park" the domain names and make a profit off of PPC.
So by them claiming they are doing this "Legally", not so true!
This video in the hands of a Trademark lawyer for MSN, Yahoo or Skype is the Magic Bullet for making an easy case. This video is also showing proof of a Cybersquatter!
I think a system like this Can Work without using Trademarks in the domain names you use. Secondly, there is a big deal of risk involved doing systems like this, so if you try it, use caution.
Stay away from registered trademarks when you purchase a domain name! You are much better using very generic terms not related to the exact product you are promoting.


jake
I’m not sure about the specific programs, but some actually allow you to use their trademark in your domain name.
With commission junction, there are instructions within each advertisers page, and it tells you if you are allowed to use trademarked terms in the domain names.
Now, most do not allow it, and I bet the companies mentioned above do not. But some do, so there’s a chance that they might be doing this legally.
Jamie Zoch
I am signing up right now to read the TOS for the program but I am pretty confident of what I wrote
Adam
Good post Jamie.
There’s lots of other domains they could have used for this effort. I suspect that using a TM domain like this increases a perceived “credibility” in the eye of the users.
Isn’t the smiley software adware also ? I read somewhere that this software injects affiliate codes in to cookies and such. Promoting something that is stealing earnings from affiliate sites seems really lame.
Adam
Jake I think the illegal thing here is that the guy is “trading” off of a domain that uses another companies trademark. Whether or not the affiliate program is cool with that or not, trading off of someone else’s mark is not legal.
Jamie Zoch
Thanks Adam. I think they used the TM’s for two reasons. A.) the Keyword and B.) Credibility as you stated. In the video, the guy states that the smiley download doesn’t carry any adware but that is only based on what he stated. I am waiting on the 72 hour review to my account that I signed up with at ClickBooth. I am more interested in reading the TOS for the smiley campaigns.
Ed
Re: TM – I think some companies are willing to look the other way around or turn the blind eye to businesses infringing on their TM if they are the goose that lays the golden egg. I just noticed that there are many live domains that has the word “flash” and yet isn’t Flash a trademark? And besides, why kill the goose that lays the golden egg?
Fusible
Great write up Jamie and thanks for the backlink. We avoid those TM’d names, because at the end of the day, they spell trouble as Adam points out. For our own study, we simply hand registered a few names like HumorSmileys.com to give it a shot. Happy New Year!
Jason
Very informative, these types of programs are hit or miss. PPC + affiliate marketing can dig a big hole if you don’t test it out correctly. Your depending on adwords to target users who might be interested in a product or service you are offering. Although this model has been proven, there is a great deal of research done before launching a successful campaign.
Ed
Just an addendum to my post above as I re-read what I submitted. I was just pointing out an observation and I am not advocating that registering domain names infringing in trademarks are ok. At the end of the day, honesty is still the best policy =)
Adam
@Ed infringing/abusing someone’s trademark is all based on use right.
@jamie Seriously? how do the smiley guys make money if not from adware ?
Zaiful Zin
Either it legal or not that guy really make money and hundreds thousand time worth then domain price.
Normally if have complaint or others lawsuit involved, the domain company will suspended the account and remove it permanently which is not to much problem for owner since they using adwords to drive traffic…
Zaiful Zin
smiley central is a toolbar add on…no adware but have a few ads..ive used it in my comp now..
Keshavaya
Can’t agree more.